Accessible accomodation in Brittany & mum’s 75th birthday celebrations

OK, so cast your minds back to the beginning of the year – 4 February 2015 to be exact. I must admit I can’t remember exactly what I was doing, but I do know that I happened to be checking my Twitter account and saw a post from Disability Horizons offering a voucher for “10% off our accessible holiday accommodation”. I can only imagine that I was feeling a bit glum at the time because I immediately applied and received said voucher (whenever I feel down I seem to want to “do” or buy something to lift my spirits – and let’s face it applying for a discount voucher is a lot cheaper than going on-line and buying something!)

La Roche Derrien

La Roche Derrien

Tide out on arrival

Tide out on arrival

Tide in towards evening

Tide in towards evening

So now I had a voucher for accessible holiday accommodation in Brittany (www.ineedaholidaytoo.com) and the website looked quite fun and interesting. I thought it would be an ideal place to go for a family holiday, but I needed to find a suitable excuse for taking a holiday sometime and I was well aware that my parents live on the Normandy/Brittany borders. I decided to leave it for a while before asking whether my parents would be interested in visiting Brittany, albeit a little further west than usual. 

 By the time I went back on the website to look at availability, most of the prime summer months were booked up and as I said, I needed is suitable excuse for taking a family holiday … That’s it! It will be my mum’s 75th birthday in October (i.e. off-peak) and it would be a good excuse to go out for a nice family meal at decent French restaurant.

So now I had a plan and I just needed to put it into action:

  • I contacted the website and proffered my 10% off voucher
  • booked the appropriate week straddling my mum’s birthday, and then
  • started to take a much closer look at the website.

The accommodation looked great and the facilities that they could offer were spectacular. They seemed to be able to accommodate people, who have much greater needs than me – I now felt quite guilty about depriving someone more worthy of my 10% off voucher.

Open restaurant?

Open restaurant?

Timber framed?

Timber framed?

 

Squashed house!

Squashed house!

So October arrived and we’d decided to take to take 2 cars – Kevin and I catching the overnight ferry to St. Malo and then proceeding onwards into Brittany proper, and my parents following on a little later in the afternoon, from their house in Normandy. This allowed Kevin and I to arrive first, shop for provisions and then await the arrival of my parents with tea and biscuits and food for that evening’s meal. Our journey was interesting because the deeper we got into Brittany we noticed the place names and signs began to change – all in dual language French/Breton. It was just like driving deeper into Wales where we have the same thing!

20151012_DSC_0516

Debra on wheels … with mum on a leash

20151015_DSC_0687 20151012_DSC_0549

The accommodation was great, our hosts were very welcoming and we got the use of a 3 legged cat any time we came back to eat, sleep etc. There was a parrot that could do a pretty good impression of a mewing cat, which would drive me mad if I were the cat! So in summary, we had a great holiday with OK weather (at least it didn’t rain until the day we were leaving) and I nearly managed to forget ‘the blasted foot’.  I’d highly recommend looking at the website. They can really offer a lot and there’s lots to do and see, whether you stay local or go off ‘gadding about the place’ – like we did.

20151014_DSC_0641

A Chateau … but no cat

Where am I?

Where am I?

Ah, that's better!

Ah, that’s better!

Another timber framed house

Another timber framed house

20151014_DSC_0664 20151014_DSC_0666

 

Leave a Reply

